Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the impacts of economic development. Although some people think that famine and destitution can be expunged with growth in the economy, I would argue that it has deleterious effects on the environment.

Those who support the idea of economic evolution as the sole factor to end hunger and poverty have their own justifications. The core of this argument is that more and more progressions in different sectors of the economy, taking agriculture as an example, will increase the productivity and yields from the farms. This would ultimately eliminate food scarcity. Furthermore, the expansion in the business and industrial sectors would not only create employment opportunities but also tax income for the government. In other words, People will start earnings from the jobs and the tax reserves of authorities can be reserved to serve starvation and chronic poverty.

However, I side with those who believe that economic growth plays a destructive role in nature. The most prominent reason is that rapid industrialization leads to pollution. This is because factories are emitting harmful fumes into the atmosphere and wastes are disposed of into water resources. To cite an example, China, being the world’s top industrial region, half of its population has no access to drinkable water due to water contaminations. Another point worth considering is that the exploitation of exhaustible natural resources caused by manufacturing or mining companies is a contributory factor of environmental destruction. This would result in the destruction of fertile land, water shortages, scarcity of coal and natural gases, and metals depletion.

Conclusively, while some people have reasons to believe in economic development as a means to end food shortages and deprivation, I tend to think that this must come to a stop to avoid environmental eradication.