Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football, while other people think that taking part in individual sports, like tennis or swimming, is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Currently there is a contentious argument that whether the team sports are better than individual sports or not. In the following contemplation I will discuss that why I believe that team sports are better than individual sports.

Co-ordination and compassion amongst the players is compulsory in any team sports. Team sports requires that the individual players together put all their efforts and energy for winning the game. Games like cricket, football, relay race, and rowing are some of the sports that build the personality of each player participating in the sport. For example, in cricket when the best players like Dhoni and Kohli are not able to score then players like Dravid play with co-ordination and compassion among team members for winning. Moreover, mutual trust and respect are other qualities that are polished when a person joins team sports. All the individuals of the team thrusts their trust on each other for winning the game. They also learn to respect each other and develop team spirit.

On the contrary, others believe that individual sports are better as it helps to build focus and confidence of the player. Individual sports like chess, badminton, tennis or swimming require focus, physical fitness and individual efforts. The benefits of team sports for polishing the personality are far more than that of individual sports. While qualities like physical fitness, focus and confidence are sure to increase by playing individual sports but a person might not learn other important qualities. Qualities of mutual respect, trust, compassion, and co-ordination are learned only by playing team-sports.

In conclusion, I reiterate that both kind of sports have their own benefits but the qualities gained from team sports outweigh the qualities learned from individual sports. Each player undergoes cognitive development in respect of their personality and character which would benefit them throughout their life to be a better member of the society.