Some say that students with similar academic abilities should be put in one class. Others believe a class should include students with different academic performances. Discuss.

These days, in most schools, there is an own classification which mainly depends on academic performances to arrange students into classes. On the other hand, many people argue that it’s a good choice to group students randomly as a class including students with different academic abilities can be positive and good for pupils. I will discuss this problem in two perspectives in my essay.

On the first hand, a class including pupils with similar academic abilities can decrease the studying pressure as students don't need to compete too much to keep their ranks or keep up with their peers. This can make studying more comfortable and enjoyable with students. Besides, this arrangement makes it easier for students to discuss or teamwork as there is not too much academic differences between members. Furthermore, the educators can teach more effectively when everyone is at the same level, they don’t have to pay too much concentration in students’ differences and be able to ensure that no one is left behind. Nevertheless, this arrangement can create some certain disadvantages, for example, this may make students lack motivation and hardly make any progress because they may be not really competitive - which can be easily solved in a class which has students with different abilities.

Classes comprising pupils with distinct learning abilities can have many advantages. Firstly, it’s undeniable that this will create a motivation for everyone to make relenting effort and compete enthusiastically to keep up with their peers. More specifically, one may try to study hard in order to keep up the pace with a better student. And this competition is usually considered positive as everyone all makes great progress. Also, studying in this type of class can create a precious opportunity for one who wants to enhance the horizon of knowledge as he or she is capable of acquiring new comprehension from the more excellent students. The better one can point out the drawback of one other and then everyone can improve the weakness and make a positive movement. Nonetheless, this kind of class can make it hard for teachers to take notice of each student and the differences between them, and moreover, some students may have to suffer heavy pressure to keep up with friends in classes.

From the points above, it can be clearly seen that each arrangement has its own pros and cons, therefore, each school should adjust and have an own appropriate arrangement. However, from my point of view, the school should organize classes which comprise students having different learning abilities but not a huge distinction in order to create maximum opportunities for pupils to make progress and compete. To put it in a nutshell, each class mode has its own advantages and disadvantages so the schools should make the best and most apporiate arrangement for pupils.