Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that rewarding pupils will improve their performance in academics while others think that giving punishment will make students to perform better. However, punishing students is not at all advisable and should be avoided. This essay will look at both the views and arrive at a conclusion.

Firstly, corporal punishment may result in students behaving with discipline and make them more attentive in the class, they often feel frustrated and hate going to school. Some children might also become introverts. Children also tend to work had to ensure good scores in their exams for the fear of being punished which will burden them with unnecessary pressure, which may lead to unwelcoming results. For instance, majority of the schools in India support physical form of punishment to discipline their students, however, the rate of suicide is increased by five percent over a span of three years and the dropout rate increased to fifteen percent. Therefore, punishing students will yield more negative results.

On the contrary, students who were rewarded for their achievements will undoubtedly excel in their studies. They can experiment without the fear of failure as there will be no punishment for getting failed. This kind of environment will shape the personality of children positively. For instance, it would be surprising to see that after the British government has passed a law in 2014, making it illegal to punish children at school, their performance in academics has improved drastically over a period of eighteen months. Hence, appreciating children for their achievements will help them to perform better.

I summary, physical form of punishment will make children to become introverts, whereas, rewarding them will yield good results. In the future, educational institutions will understand the positive effects of rewarding children and will ban any form of physical punishment at school.