Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair.

Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

For the last 30 years, a lot of sportsmen have become famous and can earn the great deal of money. While people who contribute more for society, such as scientists, doctors, teachers have small salaries comparing with people in sport. This situation causes lots of arguments about fairness of amount of money famous sportsmen receive. I believe that these salaries are fair enough and I will explain why.

First of all, people have been underestimating merits people in sport contributing to society. Most part of population of my country spend it leisure time watching TV. The top-rated program of Ukrainian television is football game. It’s popular among people of all ages and I think, a popular sport program is a cure for our mind and soul and it’s very important.

There second important fact is that sport stars have other way of life. They spend most their time in sport facilities, as they need to be in a good shape. Football, basketball, volleyball players waste lots of energy and health. There is necessity for them to undergo special medical observations and treatments, to spend a lot of money for sports nutrition, exclude bad habits and list goes on and on. There is also a social media that takes a lot sportsman’ time. I don’t think that famous people have a private life at all. People who weren’t in sportsman’s shoes can’t imagine how hard is it.

On another flip of the coin, there are very important professions underrated by authorities. I’d like to say that governments ought to value the contribution of people in science, medicine, education by increasing their wages. However, sport stars’ salaries are totally justified, as they are very important to community.