Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

It is true that, many nations import food from other countries due to globalization and various other factors. There are pros and cons while exchanging food products from different parts of the world.

There are several advantages when countries exchange commodity. Firstly, individuals of that country could relish on the imported fruits or vegetables which are high in nutrients and not grown in certain places. For example, in U.S. climate is not favourable for growing mangoes, so they import that fruit from India, where it is majorly available. Secondly, many countries import food items, as the place is located in dessert climate. In many occasions, people pay huge amount for buying alcoholic products which is famous in some parts of the world. Some of them who migrate to another country pefer eating the food which is produced in place of origin country as they are used to the habitat.

On the other hand, there are disadvantages in importing the food. Although people can enjoy various food products such as spices, meat and vegetables, country has to spend huge amount of money to foreign countries in trade. Also, the food is transported from different regions, many of the traders or people use preservatives to increase their shelf life and keep the food fresh and clean. Many countries import basic food products from different parts of world, as they allot their fertile land for construction of houses and industries.

To sum up, each coin has two sides. Importing food has positive and detrimental effect on people and economic growth.