Without capital punishment our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in the society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the opinion?

Penal systems are essential to serve justice to the victims and to avert the future incidences of crime in the society. There is a much debate though about whether capital punishment should be made a must for public safety. In my opinion, while social security is an immediate concern for the government, death sentences have no place in our civilised society. Instead governments should address the underlying cause of crime by adopting more rational approaches and implementing effective measures to act as deterrent.

First and foremost, capital punishment is a flagrant violation of human rights and is principally wrong in terms of human values. Moreover, giving death sentences by execution or lethal injection seems more like a vengeful action which is not only cruel and inhumanly but amounts to yet another killing in name of justice. As for deterring such criminals from reoffending and safeguarding the society, there are alternate ways it can be done. For example, criminals who have been convicted of serious offence such as terrorism or genocide can be kept under strict surveillance and held in special confinements while serving life sentences for their wrong doings. This can ensure safety for citizens without needing to take extreme measures like capital punishments. What is more, in some cases there is a possibility of miscarriage of justice as in many countries people sometimes face trials for trumped-up charges. Facing a death penalty for a crime committed by someone else will be a total disgrace for mankind.

However, some people might be concerned that more and more people will be prompted to indulge in serious criminal activities in absence of the death penalty. This apprehension is justified but doesn't mean we have to take the cruelest recourse. In fact, it is rather effective to go the other way round and start by identifying the motivation of people behind crimes so that people can be dissuaded by suitable interventions. When looked in depth, economic disparity and ethnic discrimination have been often found to be the cause of most horrendous crimes in societies which can go on happening eternally if the root of the problem is not addressed. The increasing rate of hate crimes involving mass shootings in some countries is a typical example of crime perpetrated due to differences in societies. Countries such as France and Germany have adopted inclusive policies which have not only ensured an equitable society but also resulted in harmonious relations between members with greatly decreased incidences of crime.

To sum up, death sentence as a way to curb crime is too harsh and not justified on the grounds of humanity and <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">only life sentences </span>could be contemplated as<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> the </span>maximum<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> punishment for deterring people with criminal motives</span>. In order for the countries to prevent crime and protect their people from it, introducing proper social and economic interventions to bring about equality<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> </span>can be more effective as crime can only thrive when there is disparity.