Writing Task 2 (an essay)

In some countries people tend to buy used things over new things. What do you think the reasons are? Is it a positive or negative trend?

The trend of purchasing new manufactured goods seems to be vanishing in thin air as more and more are opting to procure used items. Many experts are stunned by this strange swing in preferences, and are seeking concrete causes for this change. But, whatever may be the case, the phenomenon is has positive as well as negative effects and in this letter I will throw light on each effect.

The reasons for the inclination of individuals towards used goods are pretty obvious. With the weakening economic sentiments, and rising cost of living, the priorities are registering a flight away from conventional beliefs. People try to make most of it within their disposable incomes and prioritize most critical components such as education, nutrition, clothing, shelter, etc. All other things can wait or if they are somehow necessities of lesser priority, procuring used goods seems to be an attractive option since these do not cost arms and legs.

This phenomena is definitely carrying numerous benefits, the most prominent being considerable fall in the pollution levels. Trade of pre-owned goods means lesser first hand goods being produced in the factories. This clearly implies that less and less fuel and energy would be used in the production, which would ultimately be interpreted into reduced emissions.

Notwithstanding the advantages, with the second hand goods being in vogue, some sectors and people are bound to suffer, as lesser sale of newly produced commodities would not only severely hamper the manufacturing and commercial sector, in terms of quantum of trade and business, but also lead to a widespread unemployment. This is surely to jolt and jeopardize economic progress of many nations, involved in supplying raw materials and manufacturing goods.

To conclude, as per me, despite having a negative impact on the economy, this new phenomenon would deliver innumerable advantages in the long run.