• 20. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.

In this day and age, almost all people have the same goal, to be more successful in their lives. A question which can be raised in this regard is how people can be more successful. A reoccurring standpoint states that with trying new things and take a risk in life, one can achieve more success, while others hold the opinion that people should do only things which they are good at them, and there is no need to do different things and take the risk. I subscribe to the latter opinion, and in the ensuing paragraphs, I will provide two reasons to illustrate my point of view.

To begin with, by taking risks, one can waste a great deal of time and energy if he or she makes a mistake. There is no shadow od doubt that time is gold in today’s modern world, and people effort to maximize the use of their time. Therefore, if people take a risk and they do not only waste their time but also they lose a lot of energy which they could use it in what they already have. My opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. Three years ago, I worked in a shop which sold women cloths. We had a good profit, but I wanted to try something new, so I added a book section in our store too. I spent a lot of money on buying some books, but eventually, no one bought books, and I wasted a lot of money on it. Hence, it is clear that by not taking the risk, one can save a great deal of time and energy and use those in a way that they are sure it can be more useful for them and can be more successful.

The second reason is that one can be more expert if he or she only focus and concentrate on what he or she is good at. Nowadays, more jobs are specialized, so if people want to have a good job, they should have great knowledge on it, and be skillful; thus they can compete with other people and get the job. But if one only wants to try new things to get more experience, in the end, they just will have some low-level knowledge about a various thing, but no deep knowledge about one thing, which is more important to have a job and get a promotion at it. For instance, after graduation from university, I really wanted to obtain a lot of experience, so I worked in different places to be more familiar in the work area. Although I met a lot of people and gained a lot of experience, after that, I could not find a suitable job with a high salary, because I was not specialized in a certain subject. Therefore, If one only concentrate on one thing, and try to be very good at it, she or he can be more successful in the future.

In conclusion, considering both the reasons mentioned above, I believe that in people want to be more successful in their lives, they should concentrate on what they are good at, and do not waste their time on new things. They can spend their time and energy on something more useful. Moreover, they can be more expert and specialized in that way, which is very important in today’s world; thus, they can be more successful.