Agree or disagree Some people believe that it is a good idea to use cameras to watch and record people’s activities in public so that safety can be increased; others think it has too many negative consequences and should not be used.

On 1984, George Orwell published one of the classic literary works “1984,” delineating an utopian and totalitarian society where surveillance cameras were everywhere. The entire life of the protagonist, Winston Smith, was recorded anytime and anywhere by the cameras. What was every horrifying was that even his inner thoughts were documented and used as a piece of evidence that substantiated that Winston had the thought of overthrowing the Big Brother, the ruling party, which used this method to prosecute Smith. Although 1984 is a fabricated fiction, the content of it has provoked many discussions on the use of cameras in public. While many may fear that the installation of cameras in public may incur many negative consequences,

To begin with, the installation of cameras in public can help forestall crimes. Since those attempting crimes are less likely to commit ones if they know that they will get caught on cameras and arrested later. To exemplify this, the government of Japan spent about five million dollars installing surveillance cameras in public space, such as restaurant, department stores, and apartment complex. Prior to the installation, Japan witnessed an increase in public vandalism and plunder, where Japanese people shopping in department stores constantly fearing being robbed or some historical sites were susceptible to visitors’ painting or drawing. However, after Japanese government employed thousands of cameras to help control these egregious behaviors, the episodes of old temples in Kyoto being vandalized or of pedestrians shopping at the downtown Tokyo have been reported much less. The cameras have indeed fulfilled their purposes of scaring off those potential thieves, burglars, robbers, and vandalists. Rarely will anyone attempt to engage in criminal activities when they know their actions are being recorded on cameras.

Furthermore, cameras in public can help solve crimes much more easily and rapidly. Police can zoom in the surveillance footage, which can help reveal the criminal’s identity fairly readily. We have often heard that some burglars or robbers are vindicated from being charged because there are no concrete proofs, such as witnesses or video footages to validate that they indeed commit the crime. However, with the aid of cameras in public, the conundrum can be solved. For instance, if a crime were conducted in a pitch-dark night, where no one was aware of and if there were a surveillance camera or many of them for documentation, it would definitely facilitate police investigation. The video footage could therefore serve as a robust piece of evidence when the suspect was being charged. These cameras can play an important role in solving crimes.

Irrefutably, some dissidents may disavow my argument that surveillance cameras in public will certainly intrude upon people’s privacy and will be a huge financial burden on the government. They may argue that when people go to public restrooms, the most private behavior of theirs would be recorded, which is deemed impertinent. Besides, governments can better budget their expenditure on other kinds of public service, such as health care, compulsory education, nursing, and the like. However, have these people forgotten that if people are safe and sound, they need not go to the hospital since there’ll be fewer trying to hurt and rob them? have they not realized that cameras in public are free from being invasive on people’s privacy? Surveillance cameras in public by their nature are meant to be positioned in public, where privacy of individuals would rarely exist. Therefore, their argument about installing cameras in public would be untenable. Instead, having cameras in public can ensure residents’ safety. After all, the Big Brother will be watching out for you, instead of watching you.