A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near

your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new

influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory?

Explain your position.

The construction of a plant in my community could have a tremendous effect on people who live here. Personally, I would support an idea of building a factory in my small town. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, a plant could provide a lot of jobs for locals and improve their financial aspect of life. Many workers are necessary in order to run a large facility, and so a myriad or residents could be hired. If people have occupations, they are able to fiscally support their families. My uncle`s experience is a compelling example of this. A few years ago my country was in difficult political and economic circumstances and many businesses struggled to operate successfully. As a result, they laid off a lot of their employees and my uncle was one of them. He had trouble to pay his bills. Fortunately, a couple of years after, a large plant was constructed in his community and he found a new job there. Moreover, new owners paid a high salary to him, so he got a chance to fix his financial situation, and even paid for his son`s college tuition.

Secondly, a building of a factory could stimulate an overall development of my town and life here would become interesting. People from neighboring communities could move here and therefore, a variety of new businesses such as restaurants, malls, and cinema theaters could be opened. For instance, my uncle told me that when a factory was constructed in his place, a lot of citizens relocated to the town and local entrepreneurs started opening a different kind of businesses where people could get together and spend time with their families and friends. He said that his favorite getaway has been a bowling club where he has brought his wife and children every weekend and where they have made a lot of memories. Despite the fact that traffic jams and noise would increase with the developments, living in a town might be truly fascinating if locals have plenty of venues to interact with each other.

To conclude, I strongly believe that a construction of a big factory would be advantageous for my community. This is because it would create employment for locals, and because would make their lives more enjoyable.