Despite health warnings, a large number of people continue to smoke all over the world. Why should we be concerned about this? What solutions would you suggest? Use specific reasons and examples in your opinion.

In the past, tobacco was invented as a herb to cure certain diseases, but today, people use it for enjoyment. A high quantity of nicotine can bring numerous health issues. Tobacco addiction not only brought health problems, but also financial problems as well. According to me, tobacco is also affecting the youth of our nation because of that we should be concerned about this problem, and we should find a solution as well. I will elaborate on my reasons in the ensuing paragraphs.

First, smoking not only an active smoker, but it also affects the passive smoker as well. The individual, who inhale smoke not from the cigarette, but from the air those called as “passive smokers”. According to research statistics, the chances of suffering from health problems for passive smokers are higher compared to an active smoker. Additionally, smoking can cause various health diseases such as cancer, heart disease, and other serious illnesses. Many youngsters become victim of these diseases. The decreasing number of youth should be a concern for society because youth is the future of society. Young generation smoke cigarettes sometimes as fashion or sometimes they do it under peer pressure. Sometimes parents set a bad example for their children by smoking in front of them. All mentioned reasons attract the young generation towards addiction of nicotine.

Second, to solve nicotine addiction, the government should increase the tax on nicotine products. Because of the high price, fewer people would be able to afford to buy these products. Moreover, the government should prohibit smoking in public places that lead to a reduced number of passive smokers. In addition, the government should make a strict amendment about the person who can buy nicotine. For example, the youngster who is below 18 should be not allowed to buy it. Similarly, for pregnant women, it should ban to buy nicotine because the child would have to suffer from the withdrawal symptoms after birth. Further, the government should also help a person who wants to come out of the addiction by providing require counseling and treatment. The government should concern about the smoking issue because the government spends a lot of money on hospitals and organizations to save people from their addictions. This money could be spent on providing food to needy people, research, public service, education, etc.

Let’s put in a nutshell, tobacco is highly affecting the youth of society. Based on that I strongly believe that it should be our concern to reduce tobacco addiction. Government and individual of society, both can help in solving the problem by prohibiting smoking in public and funding organizations.