Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

History can make people learn more about their own country and cultures. Some people thinks that university students need to take history courses no matter what they are major in. However, in my opinion, I disagree with this statement. There are two main reasons which I will explore in my following essay.

First of all, forcing all students to take history classes are quite wasting of time. To be more specific, students who major in the field not related to history won't get any feedbacks or advantages from learing history. Take myself as an example, I am a college student major in computer science. We learn how to implement machines and softwares using the programming language. The skills of programming and computer are not invented in the last century and how can we get more useful knowledge from learning history. In this case, taking the courses are time comsuming and wasting time for them. The time could be more useful for them to study and research about their own major's knowledge instead of history.

Secondly, the other problem of requiring all students to take history courses is effectiveness. To open more courses for all students required, university should spend extra expense on hiring professors or building more classrooms. However, the students who are major in other field rather than history might think it is not their business for learning the history. They might skip the courses and hanging around with friends or even talking with other students which might disrupt the classes progress. In this case, not only the learning of students will not be effective but also the money spent by university might not be used effectively and productively.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that university should not require all students to attend history courses no matter what their field of study is.