Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Companies should pay for employees to get a university degree.

Companies have a leading role in countries economic development, and the primary constituent elements of each company are its employees. Following that, the controversial question which arises here is: would it be a good idea if the companies pay for their employees to educate at universities? Some people are inclined to the notion that companies are not responsible for their employees’ education. However, since supporting employees for having a superior academic degree could result in higher competitiveness of the company and stronger commitment of the employees, to be the best of my knowledge, I agree with this statement.

The first vital point to bear in mind is that as time passes, the amount of competition among companies will increase, regardless of in which area they are working. Therefore, companies need to perform jobs in the best way, and they may require new ideas to enhance the productivity of each task. One approach to fulfil these requirements is to invest in improving employees’ knowledge. On the other hand, universities are the most excellent institutes for boosting expertise and creativity. Consequently, in case that a company pays for employees for getting a degree at a university, it will increase the company competitiveness, particularly in the long-term view. So, not only will the money back to the company, but the company net profit also will increase.

Alongside augmentation of the company competitiveness, putting money into employees’ education, give the employees the sense that their employers care about them. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. Since I was a child, my uncle has been working for a company named Kayson which now is one of the biggest companies in the field of civil engineering. As I remember, the Kayson company has funded my uncle to graduate in Master’s degree in construction management at Sharif university. Now, it is about 20 years later, despite many valuable work suggestions during these years, my uncle is still working at this company. As a result, another advantage of investing in workforce education would have to be increasing employees’ loyalty to the company.

Thus, with the above in mind, funding employees to get a higher degree in universities is essential for the futuristic company executives who want the allegiant workforce and competitive products.