Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Competition among friends always has a negative effect on their friendship.

Friendships require works. They do not just materialize and maintain themselves and they do not build on a foundation of convenience, either. They take time, patience and two people who are willing to put in the efforts. Various points of view which are germane to the matter being discussed brings us to the moot question as to whether competition among friends has deleterious effects on their friendship. However, the popular sentiment to which I vehemently cling is that competition not only can foster a sense of learning but also can patronize people to become familiar with different views. The underlying aim of this essay is to put forward some cogent reasons to shed light on a number of issues in this framework.

To commence with, friends have always tried to share their ideas and go through discussion in order to gain much useful and helpful information. Generally phrased, competition for sharing ideas and opinions will provide an opportunity for people to become acquainted with various ideas and view life differently. As a palpable example, last time at the university in my hometown, vast majorities of my close friends discussed around different topics like education, economy, politic, sports and so forth. This meeting provided fertile ground for students to gain loads of information whether agree or disagree. To elucidate more on this issue, competition among friends not only can help people broaden their horizon but also can help them to learn thoroughly and meticulously. So, they could put much information into practice in order to become a self-sufficient person.

Another equally salient point in corroborating my stance is that competition will encourage people to improve their social skills. If we take a minute to ponder over it, these kinds of competitions could help people become familiar with each other and socialize. For instance, myriads of people spend their precious time in solitude. But enter a competition will arouse them to get to know different people with diverse attitudes and passions. It can be deduced from a combination of breadth of coverage and depth of detail that competition among friends not only can prevent negative effects on friendship but also can improve the circle of our friendship.

However, every coin has two sides. Many people might disagree in a competition, so it might have ruinous effects on friendship owing to the fact that nowadays, vast majorities of people are likely to persist on their own ideas without taking other opinions into consideration. In this situation, hardly can friendships lasting because there are too many disagreements and discontent in a group. However, it was a story in a nutshell; actually, there are more reasonable grounds that can lend weight to my personal perspective.