Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As society has changed in an unprecedented way, the issue of whether the support of arts sponsored by the governments should be more than athletics has been widely debated. Some people might think that every field deserve to be treated equally, while others believe the genre of arts are often neglected by the world. Due to my personal experience and life-observations, I firmly agree the statement listed in the question.

First of all, artists are easily been neglected or forgotten by the world because less people really understands their value. Unlike athletics, that most of the people can recognize them more. There's a vivid example. When watching television advertisements, the spokesperson of a great number of brands are all athletes. On the contrary, we merely see artists appearing on the screen. That is mainly because that common people recognize athletes more, so it influences the choice of spokesperson of the companies. Hence, the difference between the genre of arts and athletics is obvious and something should be done.

Secondly, there are large sport games happening in all over the world every single day. Besides, each game arena can contain thousands of spectators which can make a great fortune from their rather expensive tickets. On the other hand, artists can only hold exhibitions in galleries or museums where less people prefer to go. So, this has caused the result that arts definitely need more support from governments in order to keep artists continue creating marvelous work.

Last but not least, by sponsoring in support of arts can possibly benefit the beauty of cities. In other words, artists can help creating installation art to decorate streets and parks to make them more attractive to either tourists or even residents. To be more convincing, there is an example. Taichung city has recently gain a lot of spectacular structures that was delivered with the help of artists. They blend their interpretation of art into those buildings or parks to make them extremely artistic. Indeed, without the money given from the governments, the artists won't even have the chance to show their talent to the crowd.

In conclusion, due to the reasons mentioned above, governments should definitely pay more attention on arts and also spend more money to help it thrive. It is not to say that other opinions are out of merits. Moreover, I believe that my points of view are fully capable of supporting my position.