Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

This question represents the arbitrary choice regarding governmental funding. Some people assert that the government should give more financial support to the arts while others claim that more funding should be provided to athletics. As far as I am concerned, I am of the opinion that more money should be spent on governmental support of the arts due to their importance.

First of all, art can be educational since works of art often reflect the social situation when it was created. To be more specific, some of the paintings illustrate what was happening during the period. That is, those works can be considered a record of history that people can learn from. Take the painting of the French revolution for example. When citizens see this painting, they can know more about the revolution instead of just learning by text.

In addition, art can strengthen religious beliefs and make people become stable. To delineate, although people who have religious beliefs have had read bibble and other words related to the religion, it is much more effective to show a painting or statue about the religion to emphasize the sanctity of their faith. For example, people can notice how scared the god is from the structure of the painting. Thus, with those arts, people's faith would be strengthened.

Last but not least, the number of athletics such as Olympic teams is very few. Compare to the number of athletes who benefit from government support, the number of people who are affected by the arts is much more tremendous. Therefore, in order to benefit more people, the government should give more financial support to the arts.

What can be concluded from the aforementioned reasons and examples, thus, is that I totally agree that the arts should receive much more money from the government than athletics do since the arts are more important and can influent people.