Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed materials such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

For me, I think that it is better to use the internet to do research instead of printed materials. My reasons are as follows.

For one thing, most people place an emphasis on efficiency when they are looking for information, and finding resources through the internet can help people save a significant amount of time. For instance, suppose my family are planning to go to Arizona during the summer vacation, and we want to find which tourists attractions are worth going. Now, if we search on the web, they only need to spend 10 seconds typing keywords in the search bar, less than 2 seconds to retrieve more than 100 lines articles, and 15 minutes to read all the necessary articles. Moreover, the recommendation system on Google Map can help them filter unpopular and boring tourist sites. All in all, they only need to spend no more than 30 minutes conducting all the investigation. Nevertheless, if they seek for this information via reading printed materials, they might spend 20 minutes driving to the book store, one hour searching for tourist guides, another one hour reading them from start to finish, and probably another hour removing irrelevant information. Apparently, such process is extremely time consuming. Hence, I would definitely recommend people to take advantage of the internet when they need to do researches, because it prevents people from wasting too much time.

For another, people definitely want to get the most up-to-date information when they are doing their research, so if people use books and articles to do so, they might instead get a myriad of outdated data. Take me as an example, when I was taking a course about nutrition in college, I decided to find some books about in the university library. However, lots of details in those books are out of date. For example, the book stated that vegetarian people generally do not get enough proteins. Nonetheless, most nutritionists nowadays agree that lots of nuts and beans contain this nutrition. In fact, the fact that vegetarians usually lack protein is in based on a poorly done research thirty years ago. Yet, if we look up the data using the network, most sites will state that a well-planned vegetarian diet can guarantee people to consume all nutrition they need. As we can see, lots of outmoded resources are, unfortunately, still commonly seen among old books and articles.

In conclusion, I maintain that when people are looking for certain knowledge, they should definitely use the internet. This is because the majority of the people care about efficiency as well as getting the most up-to-date information.