Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects keeping old and new friends. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely stay along with my old companions as long as possible. It is my firm belief that the impact of ancient friends is positive for a number of reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, old friends are like our family members and very close to our heart. We can easily share our intense feelings with them without any hesitation. On top of that, they know us very well for a long time and can sometimes read our minds for fruitfully. On the other hand, it is not safe to share our feelings with the new friends as we do not discover them perfectly. In addition, we can seek help from the childhood friends when we are in trouble.

I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own experience. I remember when I was in my undergraduate school, suddenly I lost my concentration on studies and failed on exams. At the same time, my family blamed me that it was totally my fault to keep myself free from studies. Therefore, I became depressed and completely broken inside. However, when I shared my situation to my old mate, she discovered that I need counselling and a little break from the daily work load. As a result, when I came back from the break, I found myself more hardworking, enthusiastic and highly energetic suitable for the undergrad level. If I had not contact with my old friend, I would not have been able to overcome the crisis.

Secondly, old and familiar companionship are loyal and faithful. If they are not trustworthy, we will not keep the friendship for long time. Moreover, having such peer will be beneficial in the long run. Drawing from my personal experience, I can relate the story of my elder brother. He has two friends from his childhood and he has started a business with them. In addition, they know each other’s choice very well and consequently, their company has run without any conflict. In contrast, this harmonious partnership might have not been possible with the new seasonal friends. It’s certainly clear to see why the influence of familiar friends are useful in a person’s career.

In light of the above-mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that longtime friendships provide us mental happiness and satisfactory outcomes. This is because we can depend on them blindly not only in our personal but also in professional life.