Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It's a waste of money for the Government to fund space travel or space exploration. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

There are many countries to study space, and the field is very costed to research. Therefore, the government currently started investing in it. Should the government capitalize on it? Some people think that governments should fund space exploration. However, it is not helpful for the governments to fund space travel or space exploration because the governments don’t have enough money to support space exploration financially, and researchers are already supported by the researchers’ companies.

First of all, governments do not have sufficient money to invest in the space fields. What this means is that the revenue of governments generally comes from the people’s taxes, so they should prioritize where to spend the money wisely. There are important issues such as health and education that need more government funding. The most important factor to operate the government is people. Then, in the health sector, when people get an illness, which is a serious problem for society such as an epidemic, it will be fatal for the operation of the governments. For example, many historians argue that one of the most impacting factors to cause a lot of past countries to fall. Also, in the case of education, this is a source of technological advancement. Therefore, if people are not instructed, especially higher-education such as university or college, the government would not exploit future technology. However, people have to pay a lot of money for getting the higher-education, which means that it is necessary for governments to back them financially. This clearly shows that the government should not support space exploration due to the lack of money.

Second, governments are not responsible for supporting scientific research such as space travel and space equipment. This is because other places such as universities and private companies recognize that one of the most impacted future industry is the space industry. To be specific, scientific research is already well supported by organizations. Thus, governments don’t need to be an additional supporter especially if it has no practical use. Let me bring up my personal story as an example. I am currently working as an engineer at a large corporation in Korea. My job is to come up with innovative ideas and create equipment for space exploration. Most of my ideas and sample engines for going to space more efficiently will never be used, but I continue to research because I’m getting paid for it by the company which is a space company. Once they decide on equipment and start using the items when they fire their rocket to space. Hence, there is absolutely no need for extra funding from the government for my research.

In conclusion, what governments support space travel or space exploration is a waste of money. Governments have to focus on other important things such as health and education. This is because they are the most crucial factors in countries. Scientists already have gotten funding from companies because companies and universities foresee the future industry such as space travel.