Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People possess different perspectives of whether the opinions of celebrities are more important to the youth than the elders. Some people think young people are easier to be influenced by others, while other people state that those opinions from famous people are important to all people. In my perspective, I agree with the statement.

First of all, young people tend to influence by celebrities since they lack of the ability of independent thinking. For example, when I was in high school, I was fascinated by rock band singer. I followed his dress code and hair style of rock band singer because I was a fan of him. Moreover, one day the singer expressed his opinion about smoking in his personal blog, he stated that when people start to smoke, it means that they are ready to grow up. For this reason, I started to smoke because it is important for me to take my idol's opinion seriously. On the other hand, people can think independently when they become an adult. Furthermore, people can distinguish the opinion of others even it is the opinion from famous people.

Second, the high frequency of young people exposing to entertainment and sport news makes them consider their opinions more seriously. To be more specific, young people enjoy having connections with their friends, because young people seek to have sense of identification. Discussing gossip news is the easier way to have common interest with other teenagers. Based on the British research for news topic selection, young people tend to focus on celebrities new while older people emphasize on the finance information. Generally speaking, the more you expose to the information about specific topics, the more you would be influenced by this information. Apparently, young people who are the royal readers of celebrities definitely would consider their opinions seriously.

In conclusion, the immature thinking and reading hobby of young people make them easier to accept opinions from famous people. That is the reason why I strongly agree with the statement that the opinions from famous people are more important for the youth than the elders.