Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents are the best teachers. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I strongly agree with the statement that parents are the best teachers. I feel so for several reasons.

Firstly, they are our first teachers. The first words we utter are the ones we learn from them or the actions that we perform as a child are a reflection of what we see them do. That is, they give us preliminary knowledge. They are the ones we look up to from a young age, trying to imitate their actions and instilling their values.

Secondly, they know and understand us the best and hence they teach us the best. They know our behaviours and personalities more than anyone which makes them the best judge of us all. They are like our knights in shining armour. For example, when we fail at a particular task or fail an exam, they motivate us to move forward and overcome our fear. They share their anecdotes and help us understand that failing is okay, moving forward is important. Thus, they lead by example and teach us to face our fears and achieve our milestones.

Lastly, they always want us to be at our best and hence they teach us all the right things. For that, they may have to use multiple ways to explain their point, but in the end, they want us to do the right thing. For example, when a child steals something from someone in school or in their neighbourhood or anywhere, a parent scolds the child and teaches him/her the importance of honesty and the outcomes of bad habits like stealing. Children listen to their parents the best and hence it is very important for the parents to teach them the right things.

There are times when a lot of banter takes place between the two parties, but irrespective of the fights the parents always want the best things for their children.

Thus, I believe that parents are the best teachers. The children are their shadows that follow their footsteps and learn from their mistakes as well. That is why it is important for the parents to set a great example which helps instill good values and morals in their children.