Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A person should never make an important decision alone.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everyone thrives for freedom, liberty and independence to make their own decisions not being dependent on others. A person may take his decision without depending on others, this makes him/her self dependant, reliable and confident but is it always desirable? Sometimes seeking recommendations does not tend to develop dependency on people, it makes them more stronger to face all types of situations. Other’s opinions opens various other possible ways to judge before a person could take his decisions. In my view, any absolute thing can never be desirable for practical thing, so the decision of an individual being an absolute one without taking into consideration the perspective of others can never be desirable in this complex world. Various circumstances around us whether personal, political or social witnesses that a well consulted decisions helps to reach at a decision quickly and amicably. Such instances can be discussed in this essay.

I remember when I was getting admitted to my High School, one of my friend scored 82% in all Science subjects like Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics. She never showed any keen interest in science areas. She was always proficient in literature. But this sudden result developed a sense of confidence in her and she decided to enroll in Pure science in her high school. Her parents knew her weaknesses. But she avoided to listen to them and boldly took the decision. Later when in her high school results she failed in all the three subjects, she lost her all confidence. She appeared for the exam next year but still were unable to get good results, she somehow managed to get a 45% to pass the exam. Later in her life she took Literature for her research and excelled in it. Hence my friend got a sudden thought that she has grown enough to take self decisions, if she would have given some importance to her parents advice, she could have not faced that situation of utter depression.

Further, if we see from the political perspective of a number of countries like in India, when a ruling party has to introduce a new Law, it cannot be taken only with the assent of the Prime Minister of the country. Even if s/he is the Supreme head of the country, the Bill can only be acclaimed a Law when it receives the consent of majority of members in the Parliament. So such major political decisions also cannot be solely made on ones decision. It’s a conglomerated decision.

It is not always true that a self-decision might hamper us or affect us badly, a self made decisions can also help us to understand our capabilities, aptitudes, intelligence better than other. But when the advice or recommendations of others are also taken into consideration while making a decision, it usually prepare us to judge all kinds of perspective, whether good or bad and makes us further ready to face all challenges. Like while deciding our life partner, it is always our choice which is give prime importance, but sometimes parents decisions helps us to understand their age old experience in maintaining such important path of our life.

Thus it is always desirable to seek for other perspectives while making important decisions rather than depending on sole single decisions to make us more defensible for managing all through.