Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The vast majority of people agree that the Internet is one of the most important inventions ever, which brings significant benefits to the lives of humans. Personally, I agree with the idea that it is important for the government to provide Internet access at no cost. There are several reasons why I feel this way, which I will elaborate on in the following essay.

To begin with, since most government agencies have online services, they should provide citizens free internet access in order to receive complete government services. With advanced internet technologies, some government services have been digitized, in order to reduce labor costs. Unfortunately, not every individual can access the internet to receive them. My brother is an example who has suffered from this issue. He once went to a government department to apply for his new identity card. However, he couldn’t access the internet service, so he had to go back home and fill up the online form. If the government provides free internet access, he will be able to get the online service immediately.

Furthermore, they can help some people who cannot afford the expense of internet access service fees be able to enjoy convenient online services. Although the expenditure of accessing the internet is very cheap, some groups in the society, such as peasants or street people, still cannot pay for the bills. In this case, the government can provide them free internet access services, and let them be able to receive online services to improve their living standards. They also can learn in online courses, which can help them acquire some skills and find a job to earn money.

Finally, providing free internet access enables children to receive online learning resources without any cost. We cannot deny the importance of education for children, which can help them excel in their future lives. If the government can offer free WIFI to them, they will be able to expand their knowledge with online courses at any time. Additionally, due to the severe pandemic, many schools have quickly adopted online teaching. Nevertheless, there are numerous children in remote villages who have no way to access education resources. Therefore, providing internet access free for charge will be an exceptional idea, which can help them successfully receive appropriate education.

In conclusion, I strongly maintain that the government should provide free online access services. This is because it brings convenience to people who want to receive government services, poor people, and students.