Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should be paid according to how much their students learn. Give specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Our education is one of the most important part of our lifes. It usually determines our future job and our position in the society that we live in. Some people think in order to improve the quality of teachers performances, they should be paid according to how much their students learn. Others disagree. I concur with the second group. In my view, this won't affect the performance of the teachers in a good way and in some situations it is unfair.

First, it is not easy and almost imposiable to know how much students learn from their teachers. The only way to evaluate the knowledge of students, is by taking exams. And, in my view, the grades that a student gets from a exam is affected by many factors, and it does not only depend on the quality of their teacher. To illustrate this point, I want to compare two of the schools that I have studied in. In my highschool, the teachers were very good. The knew a lot about the subjects that they presented. But, since they used to take hard exams, ususlly the average of the scores that the student got, was low. So, even though the teachers were great, because of their hard exams, the grades were low. Now, if someone takes the grades as something to measure the quality of teachers, the good teachers that I had in high school would be rated as bad teachers. On the other hand, when I was studing mechanical engineering in Tehran University, I think the teacher were not as good as my highschool teachers, but since the exams were rather easy, the avarage was very high. So, as you can see, it is not easy to evaluate teachers, because the only way to evaluate them is based on the grades their students get, which depends on many factors other than quality of the teachers.

Second, better students don't nesseserily have good teachers. For example, I had this friend named Koosha, and because of he was poor he went to a low rated school. But since he was a very smart and and self dependent, he was better than me even though I had better teachers. So, if someone rates our teachers based on our knowledge, his teachers would be rated as better teachers. But I know it is not true, and the problem was me, not my teachers.

In sum, it is not acurate to evaluate a teacher based on the amoung of knowledge his or her students have. It will decrease the quality of exams.