Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Advertisements are an important tool in trade and business market, which can influence people’s choices and preferences when purchasing goods and services. Young children, however, should not be a target for such commercial disputes. I agree with the statement that advertisements directed toward young children should be forbidden. I feel this way for the following reasons.

Firstly, small children are incapable to decide what is right or wrong, therefore, they may be influenced in a bad way. They can develop poor eating habit and unhealthy lifestyle since advertisings usually stimulate this without concerns. For example, although nutritionists associations claim for a reduction in quantities of sugar and other noxious products in infant foods, the industry just matters in how to enhance their profit and achieve more the child public.

Secondly, the advertisements may generate consumerist behavior in little children. They may be influenced to want to have every toy that appears on TV or the Internet, just because every child they know, at school or other social communities, has that trendy toy. For instance, last year when I went to my nephew’s presentation at school every little girl was with a specific kind of doll even though they were not to play with it. It was just to show that they already have the trendy toy.

Finally, although parents should decide what their children watch on TV and the Internet in addition to monitor them, usually the advertisements appear for children in a hidden manner. For example, the parents allow a child to watch a cartoon on the internet, suddenly in the middle of the cartoon appears an advertisement and parents even do not notice it. Moreover, during the infant content or programming, there may be some kind of publicity.

To sum up, I undoubtedly agree with the statement that advertisements for small children should be prohibited. This is because they are too small to decide what is wrong and they may be turned into consumer persons. Furthermore, they should be protected against such commercial dispute that unfairly may impair they lives forever.