Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities

should give the same amount of money to their students’ sports activities

as they give to their university libraries. Use specific reasons and

examples to support your opinion.

No one deny that investing much money in university libraries is very important because they give many useful materials and books for students. Nevertheless, sport activities are equally important for students because these activities help students relax after many hard-working days and makes students’ lives more healthy and balanced. Thus, I believe that university should spend the same amount of money in students’ sport activities as they invest in libraries.

To begin with, it is obvious that playing sports is a good option for students when they want to relax instead of playing video games. Learning in universities is so hard and difficult. There are many assignments, quizzes and tests everyday which have a big effect on students’ final grades. Thus, they have to study very hard for these tests or assignments to get the best grade they want so they usually have a lot of stress when studying in universities. Sometimes, students study so hard that they seem to look older, thinner and even weaker which involve many diseases. Therefore, encouraging students to do leisure activities is essential to help reduce their stress. My own experience as a pupil is a compelling of this. When I was in grade nine, I had to work very hard to pass the high school entrance test. I spent all my day doing my assignments and homework to improve my score. At that time, I gave up playing table tennis to pay much attention in my study. I usually got up early in the morning and stayed up late at night to learn hard. Finally, I passed the entrance test as I desired but I seemed to look not good every time. If I had spent just a little time playing sport, I would have been better and it would not have affected much on my test.

Secondly, playing sports helps students avoid many undesired diseases. Studying all days forces students to sit on the chair all day which can lead to a lot of sickness. These students tend to hurt their back and have more chances to be obese. Moreover, learning in universities also requires pupils to use their computers a lot so these students are also likely to be short-sighted. Thus, to help students avoid these diseases, university should hold some leisure activities. To do that, they should invest much money in these activities so that students feel interested and join them. For example, my high school now is the only gifted school in my city. The learning environment is good and teachers here are very friendly. Because this is a gifted school, pupils have to study very hard to take many valuable prizes in Vietnam and international competitions. Besides, my school also invest much money on our leisure activities like building the stadium, many table tennis tables and many other equipment. We now can have many spaces to play sports in my school. Therefore, although students in my school study extremely, we always look healthily and never complain about anything in my school.

In conclusion, the university should give the same amount of money to sport activities as they give to libraries. This is because it has a good effect on student’s lives and health.