Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Universities should require

every graduation student to take public speaking courses. Give specific examples and

details to support your answer.

A growing number of competitions brings tremendous pressure to college students, especially graduation students, since they will be about to face the social challenges. In order to help students to acquire more skills, someone suggests that universities should require graduation students to take public speaking courses. From my perspective, I do not agree with it and consider that it will cause many problems.

Admittedly, for students who major in politic or language, taking this kind of courses is of benefit to them for improving relative ability. However, on the contrary, there is less worth for the students who do not need public speaking skills, such as science and engineering students. All they are supposed to do is staying in laboratory and conducting scientific research. So, if they are forced to choose this course, it is obvious that they will waste valuable time for concentrating on their own major, which actually restrict their development in the future.

Moreover, it is unreasonable for graduation students to take this course because of being pressed for time. To be more specific, there are numerous tasks waiting for graduation students, such as preparing graduation thesis and looking for a job. Taking speaking course is not suitable for students who have heavy schedule. Take me for example, I will graduate from university this year and now I am occupied with finishing my thesis, so do my classmates. Luckily, we have few courses so that we can fully focus on our paper work and carefully think about our future, get a job or go on studying. I am afraid that if suddenly take new courses, not only I have to divide my limited time but it is hard to acquire speaking skills fundamentally as well. That is because students should draw on skills from the very beginning, not just before the graduation.

Furthermore, there is no doubt that unnecessary courses will lead to a waste of money and resources. Universities have to hire more professors to fill the requirement of class. However, these expanses are extravagant because the value cannot be maximized by students who have no interest in it. Both students and teachers will feel meaningless about this course. It proves that taking public speaking courses for everyone is not a perfect strategy.

To put it in a nutshell, requiring every graduation student to take public speaking courses should not be adopted. Graduation students should be allowed to utilize time to do what they have already decided and what they are willing to do.