Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

At first I would say I disagree with the statement according to which the use of cars would decrease in the following twenty years. Indeed, the world’s population is expected to grow drastically in the next decades. population in western countries is likely to grow at the same pace it is growing today, but the most important contribution to the global population growth will certainly come from developing countries. And to my opinion, a growth in the use of cars will accompany this growth in population. people in developed countries are largely accustomed to using cars, therefore a great change in habits would be needed to curb the growth in cars’use.

Moreover, studies show that people live further and further from their work place, and therefore have to use their car more often. As for developing countries, a rapid economic growth is expected to go along with population growth in a good deal of countries. these countries are likely to reach the development level of western countries within the next couple of decades. Unless these countries can develop their own pattern, which I doubt, they will use more and more cars.

Nevertheless, some hope remains that the growth in the use of cars can be slowed in the future. people and governments are becoming more and more aware of environmental issues linked to the use of cars, and some experiments aiming at reducing it have been conducted in some places (e.g. the toll in the London downtown, or the alternate circulation in Paris on high pollution rate days). Although these measures certainly have a positive effect on pollution and traffic. I don’t think they’re viable in the long run. To curb environmental problems linked to cars, the only solution is to develop new clean technologies. this way pollution rates would drop, but we would still use more and more cars. So as for traffic in big cities in twenty years, I’m very pessimistic!