Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Regarding whether teachers should talk about their social or political views with students during classes, different people hold divergent opinions. Some would maintain the standpoint that they should not do this because sometime the negative attitudes towards the society could harm students. I partly agree with their notions. However, from my point of view, I disagree with this statement.

First, other than teaching knowledge to students, from my perspective, the most crucial responsibility for teachers is to teach the correct values to students. As an old saying goes in China, teacher is the person who teach valuable knowledge and noble values to others. Thus it is attached great importance for teachers to transform their own correct views about the society and politics to the students in the classroom. Consider my own experience which can shed some light on this issue. I still remember every class of Chinese in middle school, our teacher Mr. Li would talk about some his own social and political views about the current situation. He encouraged us to think about these kind of issues and reflect with our own perspective. And it was exactly his optimistic opinion and innovative views about our society impress me a lot and make me to become a person who is willing to contemplate and put out my own opinions.

Second, education will make the whole country prosperous only in the way teaching the students to tell the difference of correct and wrong, kind and evil. Therefore this ability of identification should be fostered by teachers from a young age of students. By transforming teacher's own social and political views to students, they are more aware of the border of bad and good things. Also, they know the direction in which they need to work hard and contribute themselves to the whole country. As a result, the patriotic education and flourish development of the country will be settled with ease. According to a survey conducted by Wuhan University in 2018 about the patriotic education among students in China, about 1/3 of students claim that they are deeply influence by their teachers' social and political views to become a patriot. Furthermore, the survey also shows the social or political opinions of teachers can encourage students to work hard in their academics.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that someone would argue the negative social or political views proposed by teachers could have negative effects on students. However, the regulation on teachers' education and training, plus students' ability to tell the black or white, makes this points unconvincing.

To sum up, whereas there is an argument for banning for teachers to make their social or political perspectives known to students, namely the negative attitudes could harm students, the crucial responsibility for teachers to teach students the right values, coupled with improving the educational levels of country, makes a strong case for my disagreement.