Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Human beings are group species, almost everyone cannot endure being alone for an entire life. That is to say, making friends is currently an important ability for us. In addition, this ability can be separated into two aspect, one is keeping not so many friends but longer, the other is making new friends easily. In my opinion, it is undeniably that having less but longer friends can bring us more happiness.

To begin with, having a friend for a long period of time indicates that he would know you better and deeper. It goes without saying that stronger friendship gets us access to larger pleasure. For me, I have a friend, who I met in elementary school, is still my first choice to hang out with. As it makes me feel more comfortable to get along with a friend that we understand mutually and well.

In addition, it is the deeper friendship that can accompany us and go overcome any unsettled predicament. As we know each other's habit and weakness, it is easier for us to provide with increasingly helpful advice, which is nearly impossible in the case of new friends.

Finally, it is indisputable that the ability to making new friends easier is an essential skill in one's career. However, career is just a part of our life and there are plenty of more vital things right there. Our family, our hobbies, our past, and our deep feelings, instead of friends, these are what could be connected to our long and old friends, even if there might be few.

To summarize, close and long friends one of the most vital source of the happiness, because they are strongly connected to our life. They can accompany us, help us, and support us, which plays an indispensable role in our life.