Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Throughout the history, in all civilized societies, the issue of people's happiness engendered copious controversies among people. Some incline toward the opinion that it is vital for students to make many new friends easily. Some others, however, may take an opposite viewpoint and believe that the ability to preserve your friendships is more essential. As far as I am concerned, the skill that helps people to maintain your old friends is more important. In the following paragraphs, I will pinpoint the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point is that by keeping your old friend's people can understand their friend better. Nowadays, the development of the technology happen at a very fast pace and because of its impact, it is an arduous task to find a great friend. Many people are hard to understand them. But an old friend is familiar with each other attitude and they can help each other better. For example, many years ago my cousin and his high school friend pass the university exam and attending the same university. Because of the time they spend with each other in the past, they were familiar with each other behavior and habits. When my cousin becomes upset, he lies down on his bed and listens to music and since his friend know that he always tries to cheer him up. Hence, my cousin always could rely on his friend.

The second significant reason supporting my idea is that people can trust to their old friend. There is a quote that say old friends are the best friends in the world. When a person meets up with a new person he cannot trust him because he does not know anything about him. On the other hands, an old friend is trustworthy. For instance, one of my old friends has a problem in school. His parent wanted to get a divorce and he was upset because of that. He needed someone who trusts and talk about it and he always talks to me and I try to comfort him. One of the reasons he talked to me was that I did not tell anybody else and I keep his secret.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned argument, old friends are more crucial that new friends since they know each other profoundly and they are loyal and trustworthy. Consequently, it is highly recommended that people keep their touch with their old friend because they are like a diamond which valued a lot. In fact, there are myriad of other reasons, challenging the above statement, which could be mentioned but is not embraced due to the dearth of time.