Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in contemporary sophisticated society we live in, future of every society has assumed an increasingly essential role in the nation's life. It comes as no surprise that young people can be influential on building desirable society. There is a substantial number of people who are of the opinion that young people contribute to making important decisions which determine future of society. While there are those who are of the opinion that nowadays significant decisions of every community are not affected by young people association. I personally concur with the latter group's idea. There are several reasons for this. The most important ones of which will be elaborated upon below.

One imperative reason coming to mind at first to substantiate my standpoint is that in present-day, the government does not provide opportunity for young people to involve them in developing the society. The majority of the young people are unemployed and their ingenuity is being wasted. Unfortunately, the government prefers to maintain their experienced old employees instead of resigning them to substitute them with the youth who have effective and innovative performance. For example, I remembered once my brother sought for a job. He went to every company which was relative to his expertise. Although he has studied in top university and has become accomplished person, unfortunately, he could not find his proper job.

The second interesting point which deserves some words here is that today's young people are too hopeless and despondent about their future society to do effective action. Since the economic condition of the country is getting worse day by day, this causes them to lose their hope virtually. A recent nationwide survey conducted on mental health of young people revealed that over the half of the youth have severe psychological problem. They are so pessimistic about their future that they do not have any passion to perform an effective action.

To make a long story short, taking all of the aforementioned ideas into consideration, one can safely assume that nowadays the youth are not influential on building societies, since not only does the government not provide for them appropriate occupation but also they have serious psychological problem that they cannot do any effective action.