Employees who always follow their supervisor's instructions are more valuable to their companies than employees who try to find new or better ways?

At new Year remarks in 2018, domino pizza's CEO said, "All employees should be idea bankers." this led me to think what the qualification of workers is. In my opinion, more helpful staffs are the people who do not always obey supervisor's instructions, and the reasons follow.

Admittedly, having obedient workers that support their supervisors play a key role in working efficiently. In essence, most companies pursue greater efficiency which can increase productivity and sales. However, employees who stray from direct instructions of their supervisors enable their work to distract at some point. Specifically, if employees take their own initiative and come up with new ideas in addition to their supervisors, the team or the project can have many directions which are not expeditious. Leaders are the people who are qualified to have a key to make decisions by companies. With the bosses, employees can perform what their bosses tell them to do, not bring any ideas to the table which can interrupt their projects' goals.

Nevertheless, encouraging employees to have individual ideas is also a way that companies seek the best goal. If a company just hires a bunch of "yes men," the responsibility for coming up with a successful business plan all falls on the supervisor's shoulders. What if the supervisor has a really terrible plan that causes the company to lose investment? Employees who willingly give their constructive opinions are much more valuable in this case. By speaking up and not just following their bosses' lead, these workers help the company from losing many judgments such as money and company values. The shining example of this is domino pizza, one of the biggest pizza chain brand. In domino pizza, the workers can suggest their new recipes to be selected for pizza of this month. The company provides a great reward to the person who developed the new pizza. Among the selected pizzas for three months, all the workers try the samples of three pizzas of months, they rate what the best is to release. With the process, their new pizzas are always big issues to the public. This contributes to the employees to let them work freely and enthusiastically, also, speaking of the company, it allows gaining money and good brand awareness.

To summarize what I mentioned above, I think having workers who think individually is better than working with employees who only follow their supervisors' opinions.