Essay topics: Essay topics: TPO45

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In recent years, the whole world has been changing astronomically at the speed of light with the advent of novel innovations and concepts. Hence, people have been forced to adapt their lifestyles and learn how to stand on their own. A controversial debate, though, which is often raised with respect to the ethos of this issue is whether these situations lead young people to be much more independent than they used to be. Ergo, when it comes to my stance, by weighing up the current conditions in comparison to the previous era, I firmly hold the idea that the young generation gained recognition in every society as a result of their great extent efforts which encourage them to have their rules and regulations to make their dreams true for three reasons which I will explore in the following.

First and foremost, the prime reason why I am of such a belief is that the lowest level of knowledge in the past vis-à-vis the highest level in today's world. As a matter of fact, available information is another contributor to the fact of independence, moreover, the majority of the young generation have access to up-to-date information through a computer database_thanks to the miracle of the world wide web_which causes youth to be fully aware of the outcomes and side effects of their decisions. The social media network, Facebook as a case in point, lets people share their experience of doing everything.

By the same token, another paramount reason that must be cataloged here is that the right of having privacy and freedom for young people are considered by their parents when they want to make decisions for their futures, while previously these decisions were taken based on rigid social hierarchies. in other words, under those exhausting circumstances, young generations choices were restricted on social discriminatory taboos.

Last but not least, it is an undeniable fact that getting involved for parents in determinations of their children's intentions was used to be epidemic and inevitable. Owing to that children spent their lifespans near their parents, thus, they did not have enough experience of being independent. Apart from the fact that children are the cornerstone of every successful society, teaching young people to be responsible paves the way for them to handle hardships as well.

In conclusion, according to the aforementioned reasons, I definitely agree with the initial statement and as a liberal person believe that there is not a vestige of interference in youth purposes. To sum up, having discussed the rationales, I am of the opinion that being free in choices a double-edged sword but it brings about a harbinger of far better times to come for the next generations.