Essay topics: TPO-34 - Independent Writing Task (I devoted more time to comparison of the past with today)

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A vast part of contemporary parents complain about difficulties which are connected with educating and bringing up offspring in today's conditions. They tend to believe that cell-phones, online games and social networks have made their life more difficult. Although I might understand their point of view, I cannot agree with it. The reasons on which my prospect is based will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, parents have to control activities of their progeny. Children by default would prefer to spend their time on having fun and playing with their friends because it is natural for them. However, a job of a decent parent is to limit and control occupation of his children and this responsibility has not changed for ages. In fact, fifty years ago a mother ought to limit time which her progeny spend on playing with friends on the backyard or watching TV. Today playing moves from a backyard to online games and watching TV turns into hanging on social media and a modern responsible parent must help his child to spend time on education via limiting access to the internet.

Secondly, today's children badly depend on the internet and social networks and parent may benefit from it by being engaged in child's school life. In the past, parents had only vague understanding of their children school performance. However, today many schools and even classes have their pages on Facebook or another social media platform. Thus parents who have their Facebook pages may see how their children’s studying is going on and how their relationships with other pupils are. Additionally to it, parents may read children’s twits, Facebook pages and thus they are aware of children’s life and studying. In other words, the fact that students spend a significant amount of time online is beneficial for parents and for children because parents keep in touch with progeny's performance at school and if there is any trouble they may react quickly.

Admittedly, there are some reasons which may allow to someone to state that in the spreading of the network, smartphones, e-tables has given children unlimited access to entertainment. Chiefly, the one may aver that children will spend all available time on the internet activities and games and even when they at home there is no guarantee that youngsters are studying school subjects and that in the past, a parent may easily limit this factor by taking away TV set and living a child with textbooks alone. However, I still buttress the idea that advent of modern technology is beneficial because a parent may efficiently exercise control over children by using inbuilt tools of parental control of Microsoft or iOS. In fact, modern parent may monitor children's participation to studying much more effectively than our parents could.

To wrap up, although parenting and education of children in a modern world may be challenging, responsible parents who use the available resources wisely will steer their offspring behavior much more efficiently than they predecessor could.