five days work week vs four-day work week

Working for different persons is a different way. It all depends on the type of work, amount of work to be performed, designation of a respective candidate, and many. For example, a person at manager hierarchy may have less work and more meetings where he has to manage and progress the work. Working for four day week or five days a week depends on many factors. Like a coin has two sides, both of the types have advantages as well as disadvantages.

For a five day work week, the person may divide it into equal parts for all the days as he has an ample of time. It all depends on the amount of work he has to be performed and the quality with which it is to be delivered. As he has five days time, he may complete it in less time like three or four days. Then, he can use the remaining day to recheck for any mistakes and complete the pending works if there are any. This helps employees to complete all the work in time with minimum errors. It also helps them to work in a relaxed way which tends to reduce the stress and doesn't effect their health.

But, the disadvantage is that even though the no. of working days are more, some people become lazy and postpone the work to end of the week. This may leads to incomplete of the work. This leads to wastage of time, companies reputation of not delivering work with quality and in specified amount of time and many disasters.

For a four day work week, as there is less amount of time the employee may be quick in finishing his tasks. In the beginning it may be a bit difficult, but the employee may get habituated to work faster with minimum errors and limited amount of time. This will help them to use other three days of a week to use it efficiently. They can start learning new courses which helps to grow in their career. Many people have other interests apart from their major work. These days will help them to spend more time and excel in other fields also. For example, a software employee has interest in music and arts. As there are three days as holidays from his major work, he can join any course to learn music. This not only helps in relieving stress but also to achieve their goals and lead a happier life.

But, the disadvantage is that as there is less amount of time, all the work may not be completed in the specified duration. This may lead to organizations to hire more resources or sometimes ask them to work on a holiday. This makes employees other activities in a hurdled position. It also gives organisations a bad reputation.

However, both types of work have advantages as well as disadvantages. It depends on the organization and also individuals to decide the work week according to their customers and interests and proceed to such type of work.