Is it more important to be able to work with a group of people in a team or to work independently? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Historically, people have been living in the society. Even ancient people made groups to support each other in order to survive. They were hunting together, they shared meals and leisure. In my opinion, it is more important to be capable of working with a group of people than to work independently. There are a few reasons why I feel this way.

To start with, a person who is able to work in a team has more chances to succeed in life. Indeed, in the modern world, any business based mostly on the teamwork. If a person can communicate effectively with co-workers, he/she is likely to make a contribution to the success of the entire team and, hence, can be noticed by his/her hirers. For instance, Back in my country, I started my professional way in the pharmaceutical field as a regular pharmacist. I personally always have had great communicative skills. I never hesitated to ask questions from seasoned colleagues and share my knowledge with the less experienced co-workers ( pharmacy technicians). Because of that, it did not take too long for me to become a valuable member of the team. As a result, I was noticed by my employers and after two years of the hiring, I was promoted to the pharmacy manager position. To that end, my ability to interact with the pharmacy staff helped me to move through the ranks of the company very quickly.

Secondly, working in a group gives an opportunity to make new friends. Life can be very tough on people. To survive, people have to overcome a myriad of difficulties and obstacles. Some people have to work very hard to support their families, others even have to move to another country in order to provide their children with the better life. All these commitments could be overwhelming to fulfill. It is great when people have someone in life to talk with and relieve the stress, or maybe ask for advice. That is why we make friends with others. Friends nourish our soul, prevent us from loneliness, and help us to deal with problems. For example, when I just moved to the United States I did not have any friends in this country. I felt lost. But when I got my first job in the U.S. in a pharmacy, my advanced social skills helped me to obtain new friends among my workmates. They have explained me the features of the American life, such as how to pay taxes and what the American healthcare system is like. In fact, because of the new friends, I was able to adjust to the new culture and the new environment pretty fast. On the contrary, if I had been working independently, I would not have met such as wonderful friends, and it would have taken a long time for me to adapt to the new circumstances. So, working in a team is a great way to build a new friendship.