It is more important to keep old friends than it is to make new friends.

We meet plenty of people in a day and few of them may become our good friend. As we grow up we make new friends, but it doesn't imply that we replace with the old ones. I disagree with the statement that we should keep old friends instead of making new friends. I will elaborate my reasons in the ensuing paragraphs.

First, we cannot categorize our friends with their importance. Either they are old or new, they have important role in our life. We cannot just always rely on old friends because there will be some situations when we cannot be in contact with our old friends. Though communication does not seem a problem these days with mobile phones and internet, physical distance imposes certain restrictions. For example, when I moved to the different town for my graduate studies, I was not able to maintain contact with my old friends; however, I made new friends.

Secondly, it is also important to make new friends. That is a way one can learn to change, and even bring different experiences in life. Making new friends makes us open minded and help us to develop our personality and ideas. We enhance our view of the world when we meet different people as they have different perspective, culture and opinion. For example, when I moved to another state for my graduate studies, at that time, I met few friends. Because of them, I became knowledgeable on their culture, beliefs and religions.

Lastly, making new friends is sometimes necessary because they can closely relate to our current situation. For example, I recently moved to the USA, and I am working as a physical therapist. I have make new friends to help me to understand job protocol, work culture, patient interaction, etc. In this situation, I cannot ask help from my old friends because they are not aware of the solution of our problems, and they may not physically in close proximity.

Let's put in a nutshell, I firmly believe that it is important to make new friends. They can help out with the current situation, issues, etc. It also enhances our knowledge and personality.