It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

We meet different people every day. Everyone has different and unique characteristics. But in my opinion, old friends are the people who are the wealthiest resource of my life.

I have a friend from childhood. We have in touch from 10 years. By now, we know each other very well and we help each other many times. As we can understand each other problems, it is also easier to share and to provide the solution. I can say from my experience that the time I enjoyed the most with the friend, the one whom I knew very well means old friend. On the contrary, when we make new friends, it is the chance that we misunderstand each other or judge in the wrong way. I have made a friend, John, recently from my painting class. As I have the habit to make some jokes, I talked sarcastically with him for fun. He misunderstood me. So, friendship requires efforts and caring.

In my view, keeping old friends is many times greater than to make new friends. However, new friends give variety and excitement. New friends can amaze us. But the way old friend understands over self and helps us in many critical situations is most important thing in our life. In my college years, I made hundreds of friends. We knew each other very superficially. So, I can rhetorically say that we were friends who knew each other's names only!! But, real joy and satisfaction only come from the friends who can deeply know each other. This deep understanding is set with old friends. Hence, it is most vital to keep them with our heart.

Keeping old friends with priority does not mean that we have to stop making new friends. As we like to taste new things, want to experience new places and like to ride different cars and bikes, it is our natural instinct that we like to meet new people with different interest. So, I think we also strive for the new friends and try to be in touch with them. One day, these new friends will be in our list of old friends and we will get richer with this resource of friendship.

It is human nature that when we know people and when we know their dark sides, we do not feel that much influential towards them. It is also applied to making friends. When we make new friends, we are excited about each other but as the time passes, we are not as excited as before.So, it is our responsibility know the true value of the friend. True friends are not alway excited and amazing. But when we understand their value, we believe they are the most important people in our lives. So, in my opinion, it is more important to keep your old and true valuable friends than it is to make new friends.