Older vs. new friends

We need to communicate with people, specifically with our friends; therefore, it is important to make friends with whom we are comfortable the most to spend our time with. For various reasons, I believe that older friends are better companions. Ostensibly, some people may believe that we should find new friends, because we will obtain new experiences talking to them and improve our social appearance, however, I can declare the higher beneficiary of keeping our older friends, because we will make stronger relationships with them; also, we will share more memories with them. Finally, the most paramount reason is that older friends are typically more reliable compared to new ones.

First, we need strong relationships to enjoy our life. In fact, when you make new friend, your knowledge about him or her lacks in many aspects; things such as the behavior, family relationships, favorites, etc. would not be learned in short time. One should admit that all of these little information contributes to the strength of a relation. For instance, when I was in high school, one of my old friends was allergic to mango. Her new friend held a party for her birthday, serving a mango cake, not knowing about the possible allergic reaction. My friend ended-up at the hospital, and it was her worst birthday, ever. She was not angry at her new friend, given the explanation, but they never forget the incident. Therefore, if we want strong relations, we will need lots of information about our friends, and we cannot obtain them in a short time.

Second, with a longer time to spend with a person, you share more memories. You cannot start talking about your shared childhood memories upon seeing a new person. Most of the time we talk about our memories with our friends; without such kind of memories, it would be hard to find a topic to make more memories. For example, some years ago, my sister invited her friend home to spend a night with her. That night they slept sooner than us, as they had nothing to talk about. So, to improve the relationship with someone one need to share memories and therefore spend lots of time with that person.

Third, older friends tend to be more reliable. When we have problems, we prefer to consult with somebody who we know for a long time. This happens because we can rely on their honesty and help. For instance, when I have some academic problem and I need someone to consult with, the first person I am thinking of is my oldest friend. Therefore, we need reliable friends, and most of the times they are our oldest friends.

Consequently, I am of the conviction that the older friend is better. This is because we make strong bonds, have lots of shared memories and rely on them the most, but it would not harm to make new friends. So, I mainly suggest keeping our old friends, while making new friends from time to time. The effect of my solution would be that we have the benefits of our older companions while gaining new experience, but if not possible, for the aforementioned reasons, I conclude that longer relationships will be a better choice.