People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no denial to the fact that a college experience leads to a holistic development of an individual which eventually helps him in later stages of life. I am sure that different people attend college with different objectives. However, if I were to substantiate reasons behind attending college, I would choose personal development, formal degree and increased job opportunities. These points are briefly explained in the following paragraphs.

To start with, attending college is of utmost importance to get accustomed with the outer world. In other words, a university environment provides an immense amount of exposure to individuals which help them carve their personalities. In an university, we get to interact with people from different backgrounds, cultures and even countires. Engaging in productive discussions with them leads to an expansion of our horizon which furhter helps us develop a wide spectrum of ideas. Seminars, presentations and group assignments arranged in colleges are most essential in building a broad mindset and serves as a breeding ground of monumental ideas. From my personal experience, I must say that atending a college has helped to become a better human being and perceive life in a more optimistic way.

Secondly, although quite implicative, a college provides a formal degree which is an universally accepted piece of information revealing our credentials. However obvious it may sound, a college degree opens several pathways for development in our career. As the world becomes more and more specialized across all disciplines, only a structured institution like a college or an university can help in learning skills, and obtaining a degree which are may otherwise be difficult. For example, I have always been a data science enthusiast and wanted to build a career out of it. It is a well know fact that in recent times a lot of courses and workshops on data science are available on the internet. However, such informations are hughely scattered. Only a college degree can prepare an individual as a proper data scientist by providing a structured coursework and attest his credentials through a degree certificate.

Finally, I would like to mention about the increased job opportunities that arise after passing out of college. These days, most colleges have a highly efficient placement cell which deals with companies and help their students get placed. As a matter of fact, most students are priviledged with job offers even before they actually graduate. Drawing from my own experience, I would say that my colleg has helped me commendably by assisting me to secure a job and get place.

In the light of the above mentioned points, it is clear why attending a college has multiple benefits for an individual.