People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment, doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do.

Needless to say, personal pleasure is of paramount importance in human being’s life. This brings up a highly controversial topic whether today people' time is allocated to personal enjoyment or necessary tasks. I believe that individuals dedicate time to doing necessary works rather enjoyable ones. The reasons for this viewpoint are related to their jobs and education which I will explain them in the following paragraphs in a great detail.

The first reason that immediately comes to mind is that people spend their time at a job. In other words, humankind dedicates time to doing their duties, performing tasks and so forth. Most of these works are really time-consuming and exhausting. People do them because of making money in order to pay their compulsory expenses such as transportation bills, accommodation expenses, and living expense. For example, my father is a secretary of a manager in a big company goes to his profession from the early morning until the evening every day. He sometimes worked overtime till the night in order to gain additional money. During his job, he has to organize meetings for his boss and type letters in the computer taking several hours to terminate them. Not only should he work as a secretary but also he is a waiter at a restaurant in our neighborhood. He has a second a job since he obtains an insufficient amount of salary from the company. Therefore, all of these practices indicate that people devote time to mandatory topics such as executing tasks on the job rather than spending on personal enjoyment.

The second point worth discussing is related to people' education. In fact, nowadays more and more people are interested in gaining an academic education. Young adults registers for universities and professional centers for the sake of obtaining a degree or diploma. The main purpose behind these educations is to find a career in the future. My own experience provides an illuminating insight into this fact. When I was an engineering student at a college, I used to go to university every day. At university, I attended in many classes to learn new things. During the lectures, our professors described new theories and notions from our textbooks and in the mid-term examinations, they presented various questions regarding the class discussion. Therefore, I should not only give a heed for the professors' talks at every class, I must but also execute class assignment after classes. Additionally, I had had professional training at a vocational center before I came to the house. This professional training was considerably tiring for me, as I had a lot of physical activities. Hence, I allocated my time and energy so that I can be recruited in the future. Consequently, university education, as well as professional training made it impossible for people to have enough time for dedicating to personal enjoyment.

In conclusion, according to above-mentioned factors, it is true that people’s modern life is much about necessary topics instead of personal enjoyment because they work a lot and learn from universities and other centers.