Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I do agree with the statement that it is important to know about events happening around the world even if it is unlikely to affect your daily life.

First, I have to admit that knowing about world events may consume time and energy, and it is likely that what you see is only agenda that constructed by the powerful media corporations like FOX News. To be more specific, according to the agenda setting theory, the media is controlled by media giants and it is those media corporations that determine what is important and what is trivial by selecting which news should be worthy enough to be the headline. Therefore, the events you think is important may be not important at all, and it is totally useless to know what is happening around the world, never to say the events may be unrelated to your daily life.

However, I do not want to be as pessimistic as those who advocate agenda setting theory, and I always believe that media practitioners always abey the ethical mode and set the agenda for the sake of the people. To inform people what they should care about, editors choose news that are most related to people's life as the headline rather than celebrities' scandals. For example, when looking into the headlines of the New York Times, we can find that they are mostly very serious issues like the death poll of coronavirus, Hong Kong protest and Black Lives Matter. Journalism Ethics and Standard, which requiring media practitioners to be independent from state control, business interests, market forces, or any other vested interest or outside pressure, is one of the core courses that need to be attended by journalism majors.

In addition, I have to mention that many events can give us many unexpectable insights and reflections about ourselves and the society as a whole. Take the mass murder of Rohingya Muslims happened in Myanmar as an example. From 2016, there have been reports of a campaign of mass violence by Myanmar's military, specifically targeting the Muslim minority Rohingya. More than 740,000 refugees poured across the border into Bangladesh, bringing with them allegations of indiscriminate killing, rape and property destruction. Although this event seems very far away from our daily life, knowing this event can make us more sympathetic and more connected with people around us. Learning that there are still people living in a corner of the world suffering and struggling can make us reflect the human nature, and even help us to find our purposeful jobs, like working in human rights groups.

In a nutshell, we can be more confident about media agencies and knowing about events happened around the world can give us many incredible insights.