For schools, assessing teachers’ teaching efficiency is a very important issue. But is it better for other teachers to assess or let students assess teachers?

Evaluating teachers’ performance plays a vital role in the future of societies, for their efficiency has an influence on youths’ knowledge. In this regard, there is a doubt between decision-makers whether to assess teachers’ efficiency by their co-workers or students. Although both of these sides have several advantageous and disadvantageous, I, personally, support the co-workers’ evaluation in comparison with students due to several conspicuous reasons which will be elaborated as follows.

To begin with, teachers can better realize students’ learning performances. As a group of students loses marks in a particular lesson, it means that their teacher cannot transfer his/her knowledge to the students. Other teachers can easily investigate students’ learning trend, which directly shows the impact of their teachers. An example can drive this notion dramatically home. Assume that a student has got a good mark in all of their lessons except one. There are two different hypotheses about this issue including the student might get into trouble, or their teacher’s efficiency was low. In this regard, only other teachers can reveal which of these issues is correct in this condition. Therefore, teachers’ assessment is more beneficial.

Moreover, teachers are adults and their decisions are more rational than students. It is crystal clear that students may get a low mark to a strict, knowledgeable teacher. However, these kinds of teachers have a remarkable positive influence on students’ future job position, for they can learn to work harder with more disciplines. Therefore, other teachers can decide accurately about these types of issues without emotion.

All in all, as learning students is a critical issue for societies, other teachers should evaluate their co-workers’ efficiency rather than students because the two important reasons which can be read in the previous paragraphs. Consequently, I, totally, believe that teachers should decide on other teachers’ performances.