Some high schools require all students to wear school uniforms. Other high schools permit students to decide what to wear to school. Which of these two school policies do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Nowadays is scientifically proven that the efficiency level of work’s people is not correlated to the kind of clothes that people use for work. In this sense, I firmly believe that is better the student decides what to wear to use for the school than they use uniforms. Even though this topic is called into question, I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explain in the following essay.

First and foremost, all the students over the world should develop his self-identity through the free decision of what clothes they want to use for the school. What is more, different specialists say that this policy could increase the self-esteem of the students. In my own experience, my siblings do not wear school uniforms and it is really important in their personal development because they are not pushed by the school to wear something that they hate it.

Another important reason is that is proven by dozens of research papers that the use of uniforms is not correlated with the intelligence, efficient or efficacy of the students in the school. Different surveys around the world show that children and young people do not like the uniforms because its price is expensive and it does not help them to be a good student. For instance, according to the results of the PISA Exam, U.S. students of public schools, which they never use uniforms, are far better than Peruvian students.

In sum, I believe that is crucial that schools should foster students to take their own decisions about what clothes they want to use every day. We need to empower students to be independent and we help them to increase their own-esteem in order to have outstanding persons and professionals.