Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

It goes without saying that in today's complicated and progressive world we live, children's educational success is one of the most critical contemplations for parents, and they are always seeking for possible ways to encourage their kids to become more interested in studying. In this regard, there has always been a controversial debate among people around the issue of whether providing pupils with financial reward for their performance is a suitable strategy or not? Personally speaking, I strongly believe that offering money in exchange for kids' high grades has multiple benefits and worthy of support. Two reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are provided in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, money can serve as a proper stimulator to encourage students for studying harder and enhancing their grades. It is crystal clear that since school-age kids cannot understand what things are exactly beneficial for them and studying may seem as a tedious activity for them, it is parents responsibility to provide them with the appropriate motives to stay in the correct direction. Promising children for giving a persuading amount of money as a reward for outstanding grades in their classes can provide them with enough motive to overcome the hardships of studying and even make kids more interested in their studies. An example can drive this notion home correctly. I remember when I was a third-grade student, my least favorite course was mathematic, and my grades in this course had reduced my overall score dramatically. After my math teacher talked to my parents about my weak performance in his class, they decided to encourage me with some money. "We will pay you a hundred bucks if you get an A in your mathematic class." my parents told me. Since I could have bought my favorite video game with that money, not only I tried and got An A+ in my math class, but also I became interested in that course and decided to pursue my major in a mathematically based topic. Had not my parents offered me money to improve my grades in math, I would have remained as a math hatred student.

Moreover, by offering kids with money as a reward for their high marks, parents teach a precious lesson to their children, that money should be earned with effort, and it certainly has some positive effects in their future. To put it in a more vivid picture, if parents give their kids money whenever they simply asked, children would not become familiar with the notion that money is not an easy thing to gain and they would possibly face some financial problems in their next stages of life. On the other hand, If kids comprehend that they are getting that money because they have something valuable to offer in return, not only it would stimulate them to enhance their abilities to gain more money, but also makes them more successful when they become adults. A research conducted in Arizona state university revealed that persons who offered financial motives by their parents in return of high grades in their school times became more financially independent in their adulthood.

In conclusion, considering all the abovementioned points and reasons into account, I firmly support the idea of providing money to children for their remarkable school performance, not only because the role that money plays as an excellent motive for children to study but also because it has lessons to be learned for children and can enhance their future quality of life.