Some people are more content with the life in the big city, while others think that they will be more satisfied to live in the village (small towns) instead. What is your opinion about this prompt and your preference?

Imagine birds chirping on trees while rivers reflect back the sunlight that illuminates the surface of the water. Imagine lying down on the greenish, fresh meadows, bathing oneself in the sunshine. A large number of modern people have been growing tired of the hustle and bustle experienced in big cities, thereby retreating to small towns seeking for peace and quiet. Appealing as living in small villages may be, I certainly prefer to live in the big city for the ensuing conspicuous reasons.

To begin with, living in big cities is more time-saving. To be more specific, since facilities and amenities in big cities are more accessible, I could certainly spend less time finding services that I need. Take public transit. Currently, I am living in the capital of Taiwan, Taipei, where it is equipped with a well-planned and well-established metro system. Since I have to commute to my workplace every day, the enormous convenience afforded by the metro system is superb. It only takes me about fifteen minutes from my residence to my office. Another relevant example is that exotic restaurants are diffused near my apartment, so every day after work, I do not need to spend much time finding a diner where I can sit down and relish the cuisines. However, whenever I travel back to my hometown, a small village in Tainan composed of only about five hundred residents, everything suddenly becomes inconvenient and time-consuming. I usually have to drive for about an hour to get to the nearest restaurant. Besides, no metro system is available in my hometown and the buses there only run every three hours. Therefore, to a person who takes great value in saving time, I find living in big cities more spellbinding.

Furthermore, living in urban areas typically would have better educational resources since city governments or other authorities concerned would be more willing to invest sufficient funds into supporting educational systems. To illustrate, since school facilities, such as libraries, laboratories, or the employment of teaching faculties, can be obtained only via some monumental aids, it stands to reasons that big cities can create better and higher-quality learning environment. After graduating from high-school, I faced a dilemma: whether I should attend a local community college near my hometown or go to a better university in Taipei. Although most of my relatives and my parents encouraged to stay since in that way, I could stay closer to home, I still decided to move to Taipei. In retrospect, the decision was sound and well-made since National Taiwan University, the best university in Taiwan, was renowned for some top-notch research and prominent professors. There, I was able to do research projects with them, such as the genetical microbial disintegration research that I did with a professor in the biology department. This research project could not be completed without some fancy and latest lan equipment, which was certainly prohibitively expensive. Besides, National Taiwan University had many funds from the city government to support students to participate in exchange-student programs. For example, I was able to study at University of Tokyo for one year without having to pay for the tuition since my stay at University of Tokyo was fully covered by National Taiwan University and the Taipei City Government, something that I might not be able to do if I attended a local community college near my hometown, which lacks a significant amount of financial resources to invest in students.

Irrefutably, some dissidents may disavow my argument by claiming that modern people are afflicted too much pressure from living in suburbs. The accumulating pressure from work, school, and interpersonal relation has all together contributed to some unwanted consequences, such as higher rate of suicide, cancer-contraction, and other negative outcomes. However, have these people forgotten that similar issues might also crop up in small villages? That is, have these people not realized that job opportunities are limited in small villages and if people cannot find jobs and stay unemployed for too long, they may also feel dejected and depressed? Have these not been aware of the fact that nowadays, many land-development projects are done in rural areas, where lands are being developed and exploited to an extent that water and air have been severely polluted? These problem are no less severe in small towns. Have these people not considered that once residents in small villages are sick, medical resources might not be readily accessible and available? Therefore, I deeply believe that living in big cities would yield greater benefits than living in small villages.