Some people believe that a college or university education should be available to all students. Others believe that higher education should be available only to good students. Discuss these views. Which view do you agree with?

A controversy is often raised about the criteria that students should have to be able to attend universities.

Some groups of people hold the view that university enrollment should be limited to good performers. Others may have an opposing view and feel that all students should have the right to attend universities. From my vantage point . I concur with the later groups of people for two primary reasons that I address in this Essay

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that there should be no discrimination on eligible students enrolled in universities. In fact, all students regardless of how good or bad, white or black, male or female should be eligible. If we limit education to only small group of people, we are withholding others from having this right. A vivid example which illustrate my point is the strict criteria which was implemented when I was enrolled in my university. Only the elite were accepted. Thus, many of the students did not have the opportunity to be enrolled.

The second point which deserves some thoughts is that students due to special circumstances might not be lucky enough to get high grades and be admitted to universities. Having such a criteria would not consider an unfortunate events like loss of a dear one, a disease state, or an stressful situation that a person experience. In other words. Some people may be lucky to get good grade. However, others night have some difficulties which leads to loss of opportunities.

Although the aforementioned reason are the first to cross my mind at a glance, they are by no mean the only reason available. In fact, another subtle Point which deserve some thought. The noteworthy, refreshing, intelligible study published in the Journal of higher education which concluded that providing education to a vast group of students contribute significantly to reduce poverty. This study was conducted to see its impact on the less fortunate families

To wrap up, contemplating all the aforementioned reason one soon realizes the importance of providing education to all classes of the community. Without such an approach we are enhancing poverty and expand the gap between the rich and the poor.