Some people believe that students should be given one long vacation each year. Others believe that students should have several short vacations throughout the year. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

Vacations are essential for students to take break from their intense academic life, and be better prepared for their future study. Should student have a single long vacation or several short vacation has been a common debt among professional educators and parents. In my opinion, a long vocation should be a better choice for schools.

While the number of student decide to get a internship during their break have dramatically increased, longer break time are much more flexible for their needs. Job experience have became essential to new graduates who are trying to find a new job. A significant amount of job experience comes from internship or part-time jobs they take during their school break. Majority of internship experience, however, take place at least 3 months. Thus, for students who trying to find an internship short break time will hurt their career. When students already meet the expectation and skills set for that job, it's going to be a fiasco if they cannot take it duo to time limit of their vocation. By contrast, a longer vocation which meet most time requirement for an internship can help students advance their career goal.

Moreover, longer break time can also help students who live far from their school to a reunion with families. It's not uncommon today that a lot student decide to go to a college far from their home for better academic performance or cheaper fees. I am an international student from China who already study in America for 3 years. Every time I decide to come back to China, I will have to pack my belongings, book flights, and suffer from jetlag. It's both expensive and time consuming process. If we have shorter vocations, I will have to repeat that process even more time. I will also have shorter period stay with my family. On the other hand, if there is only one longer vocation, it will be much more convenient for me. I could also took a longer family trip which is something I cannot do if there is only short break. My experience is common among international students and students who study far from home. Thus, to help those students, a single longer vocation is much better.

Meanwhile, a longer vocation is far from perfect. For example, student might forget what he learns from last semester. However, as long as students keep motive themselves and have a functional study plan, this shortcoming can be overcome. Consider the benefit longer vocation can offer to those who want to get an internship and those who live far from compus, school should consider use a solely a longer vocation.